Pan Roasted Fish Fillets

Have you ever completely bombed on a dinner that you thought would be great? I did, tonight and it was bad! I was trying for the first time a Tuna Casserole recipe my wife had from years ago. I was excited as it only had four ingredients. Yup, it was horrible!!

As I was deleting the pictures I had taken of making it (to make sure I never even thought about posting it) I came across this fish dish I made roughly a year ago. This was right when I started to get serious about cooking, and slowly took over all the cooking duties to take that burden off of my wife. This is from ATK, and I believe it was in the first magazine I received from them. It is awesome in it’s simplicity, and can be paired with many different side dishes. I had made a tomato and cucumber salad for the side, and topped the fish with Pico de Gallo. These pictures are from the first time I made this fish dish, and it came out wonderful even for a novice cook.

photo 2 photo 1

Please don’t mind the paper plates! I mentioned we are a nothing fancy type family, right?

 

Pan Roasted Fish Fillets

Ingredients

4 skinless white fish fillets, 1 to 1 ½ inches thick

Salt and pepper

½ teaspoon sugar

1 tablespoon vegetable oil

Lemon wedges

 

Directions

Adjust oven rack to middle position and heat oven to 425 degrees.

Pat fish dry with paper towels and season with salt and pepper. Sprinkle very light dusting of sugar (about 1/8 teaspoon) evenly over one side of each fillet. Heat oil in 12 inch ovensafe nonstick skillet over high heat until just smoking. Place fillets in skillet, sugar side down, and press down lightly to ensure even contact with pan. Cook until browned, 1 to 2 minutes. Using 2 spatulas, flip fillets, then transfer skillet to oven.

Roast fillets until centers are just opaque and register 135 degrees, 7 to 10 minutes. Serve immediately with lemon wedges.

Recipe from America’s Test Kitchen

Leave a Reply

