Marinated Grilled Chicken Breasts

Despite the 100+ degree weather in TX right now, we decided to grill tonight for dinner. The final result of this delicious chicken, which then turned into rice bowls was well worth the short time of suffering outside over a grill during the heat of the day. You can also do this just as easily on a grill pan on the stove.

If you have any apprehensions of the chicken tasting like beer, do not worry at all! I haven’t had a beer in probably 15 years as I absolutely cannot stand the taste of it, but I LOVE this marinade and how tasty this chicken comes out. There is zero beer taste after being grilled.

I mentioned above, and you can see from the picture, 9 times out of 10 we use this chicken recipe to make rice bowls. I slice the chicken into thin strips after being grilled. I make a simple cilantro lime rice, portion that into bowls, then top with whatever we want that day. I typically stick  with rice, chicken, cheese, lettuce, and then add a little salsa as I eat it. My wife will add beans, sour cream, guac, corn, or whatever else suits her fancy.

photo 1

photo 2

photo 5

Grilled Marinated Chicken Breasts

Ingredients

 

¾ cup Mexican beer, such as Dos Equis

1 tablespoon soy sauce

1 tablespoon lime juice

½ tablespoon canola oil

½ tablespoon Worcestershire sauce

1-2 garlic gloves, minced

1lb boneless, skinless chicken breasts

Directions

In a large sealable bag, add the first six ingredients, mixing well. Add chicken breasts to bag, seal, and work the pieces to make sure the marinade as coated all the chicken. Refrigerate for 30 minutes, or up to a couple of hours, flipping the bag halfway through.

Grill over medium high heat until internal temperature has reached 165˚ F. Try not to turn the chicken more than once or twice.

Note: I recommend pounding out the chicken breasts into thin, uniform sizes before marinating. For these pictured above, I actually sliced the breasts in half width wise, then pounded them. It started at 2 pretty good sized breasts, and ended as four perfectly sized portions.

 

Leave a comment