Mom’s Apple Tart

This is in fact my Mom’s Apple Tart recipe, and trust me, you must try it! She is the absolute best baker I know, and best overall cook for that matter too. This was my first attempt at it, and I am very pleased with how it turned out. It is easy enough for a beginner like me, as long as you follow her directions.

The recommendation on types of apples is hers. She lives in New England, and unfortunately down here in TX, I can not find any McIntosh apples right now, so I used Honey Crisp. They work well too.

IMG_1515

Can you imagine how great my house smelled when I pulled this out of the oven!!

FullSizeRender

Cooled off a bit, and outer springform shell removed.

IMG_1522

Yum!!

Mom’s Apple Tart

Ingredients

½ cup butter

¼ cup sugar

1 teaspoon lemon juice

1 cup flour

1 pound cream cheese

½ cup brown sugar

1 large egg

2 large apples (I use McIntosh but Cortland would be good too)

½ cup sugar

1 teaspoon cinnamon

Directions

Cream the butter, ¼ cup sugar and lemon juice together in a large bowl. Stir in the flour until well blended. Press the dough onto the bottom and about 1 and ½ inches up sides of a 9” springform pan. Refrigerate.

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Place the cream cheese and brown sugar in a bowl and beat until fluffy. Add egg, and beat until smooth.

Peel, core, and slice apples into ¼ inch pieces. In a large bowl, combine remaining ½ cup sugar and cinnamon, add the apple slices and toss until coated.

Pour the cream cheese filling into prepared crust and cover with the sugared apple slices. Bake for 15 minutes at 425 degrees, reduce the heat to 350 degrees and continue baking for 40-45 minutes.

Remove from oven and cool on a wire rack. Use a knife to loosen the cake before releasing the spring and lifting the sides from the bottom of the pan.

Enjoy!!

9 thoughts on “Mom’s Apple Tart

  1. I to live in New England and it’s apple time. Can’t wait to smell the tart cooking. The best smell ever. Thanks for the recipe.

    Like

  2. This tart looks amazing! I always thought that making pastries like this would be difficult but you make it sound so much easier! I think I’m going to try to make it when I have apples restocked in my pantry

    Like

  3. What a lovely recipe! It’s like a cross between a cheesecake and a tart! I really like these press in crusts – not just because they’re easy but also because they’re usually so good and taste like cookies!

    Like

    • Thank you! And that is exactly what it is like. And well loved by everyone who has tried it. On the crust, that was my first time preparing one like this, and I was very pleasantly surprised how easy it was. Not too mention how tasty it was!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Mom’s Apple Tart | homethoughtsfromabroad626

Leave a Reply

