Tater Tot Hot Dish

This recipe comes from another one of my favorite food blogs to read, Sarah ‘n Spice. If you are a fan of Alton Brown on the Food Network, definitely check out her My Good Eats section as well, as she cooks every recipe from every show.

If you are anything like us, you like to make breakfast for dinner once in a while. We do it once every week or two, as everyone in our house loves breakfast foods, and it is usually a sure bet for the boys to eat a real good dinner. I am not sure this is a true breakfast casserole, but that is what I have always made it for in the past. It is really a just meat, potato, and cheese dish, wish some cream of mushroom soup to help give it some moisture.

So go ahead and make this for breakfast, lunch, or dinner, and you will not be disappointed at all. Oh, and it is super easy!

IMG_1545

Tater tots in a lightly sprayed pan. I was running behind, so I could not make the Tater Tot Army I was hoping for. See Sarah’s original for that one.

IMG_1546 IMG_1547

The sausage cooked, drained, then with the milk and cream of mushroom soup added.

IMG_1548 IMG_1549

Going into the oven (minus the foil) and then out of the oven. I had some really cranky hungry boys by this time, so I could not leave it in long enough to get nice and golden brown.

And of course I didn’t get a picture of it portioned on the plates. Maybe next time. Anyway, we served this with some basic scrambled eggs and biscuits. Very hearty, filling meal!

Enjoy!

 

Tater Tot Hot Dish

Ingredients

1 32oz bag tater tots

1lb ground beef (or sausage)

1 can cream of mushroom soup

1 cup whole milk

2 cups shredded cheddar cheese

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Arrange the tater tots on the bottom of a 9×13 pan (sprayed lightly with a non-stick cooking spray) in one single layer. Brown ground beef in a skillet. Add in cream of mushroom soup and whole milk. Simmer for 5 minutes. Pour the meat mixture over the tater tots. Sprinkle on cheese. Cover in foil, and bake for 30 minutes. Uncover and broil for 3-5 minutes until cheese is bubbling and golden brown. Slice and enjoy!

The recipe can be found at Sarah ‘n Spice.

3 thoughts on “Tater Tot Hot Dish

  1. Thanks so much Dave for the kind words! I cannot wait to make your version with sausage. I told my husband about it, and he immediately said, “when do I get to eat it, haha! Glad you like the recipe and I love your spin on it! Have a great weekend 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

