Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

In life, I believe we all have a personal nemesis, or maybe a handful (x 10 in my case) of them. This may sound ridiculous (probably because it is), but one of mine has been to make a good pulled pork dish. I have tried slow cooker recipes, braising recipes, etc. And no matter what I try, no matter how much liquid the pork is buried in, how much bbq sauce is poured over it on a sandwich, the meat is always dry. I cannot figure it out.

Well today, I have one less nemesis to worry about! I have conquered the pulled pork sandwich!

The last few weeks, I had been studying different recipes for the dish, reading about different techniques, etc. On a whim, I decided to take what I thought might be the finer points of a few different recipes, and blended them together into a new one. The result, was better than expected, and will now be a featured dinner in our rotation. My wife even suggested we make it again in just two days when some of her family will be over for dinner, that’s how much she liked it. She NEVER eats the same meal twice within a week or two. Me personally, I can eat my favorite dishes (such as my spaghetti and meatballs, chicken enchiladas, etc) 7 nights in the same week and not tire of them.

If you like pulled pork, or is you never had it, give this a try. We didn’t even feel the need for a side dish once we tasted it at the shredding stage, which is 30 minutes prior to eating it. My wife did throw some pickles on her plate which was a great accompaniment, and also another hurdle overcome this week. More on that in my next post.

And by the way, I did horrible taking pictures on this one. There are only a few for you.

IMG_1551

The pork just into the slow cooker with the marinade poured in.

IMG_1553 IMG_1555

I went the two sandwich route sans a side. The wife went with the B&B pickles.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

Ingredients

1 cup water
1 cup barbeque sauce
¾ cup ketchup
¼ cup honey
¼ cup Worcestershire sauce
¼ cup brown sugar
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 tablespoon dried minced onions
1 teaspoon chili powder (or more if you want a bit of a kick)
Salt and pepper
1, 3-4 pound pork shoulder roast

Directions

Mix the first nine ingredients in a bowl, until well incorporated. Place pork roast in the slow cooker, and add the marinade. Cook on low for 6-7 hours. 30 minutes prior to serving, pull roast out of cooker and shred the meat with two forks. Add meat back into the cooker and mix well with the sauce. Cook for the final 30 minutes. Serve on hamburger buns.
 
Note: On the barbeque sauce, I would go with a non-sweet style. Such as, don’t use Sweet Baby Ray’s as much as I love it. There are enough sweet ingredients in this recipe, you don’t want to overdo it. For this dish, I used the basic Kraft brand barbeque sauce. With so much going on in the recipe, you don’t need an expensive or fancy bbq sauce to make this dish awesome.
2 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

Leave a Reply

