Pumpkin Crisp with Cream Cheese Frosting

I understand that by now, we all have no shortage of pumpkin recipes to make and to try, not too mention our long standing favorites. But I need to add one more to your list today. The primary reason is, the simplicity and equal deliciousness of this recipe. It is a mix between a cake and a crisp, such as a traditional apple crisp. It is covered by a nice thin cream cheese frosting.

Over the last few years when I have become more serious about cooking, and preparing healthier meals for my family, I have slowly gone away from boxed, prepared foods. Not that I always cook healthy from scratch now, but at least I am aware of what is going into our food verse some of the ingredients on boxes that I couldn’t pronounce if I tried. But this recipe is an exception, as I could not figure out how to easily replace the box cake mix and it still turn out well. So I am cheating on this recipe, but hey, we are all entitled to that once in a while right?!? And honestly, sometimes it is just so darn convenient and necessary to use a box solution!

On the frosting, the below measurements makes a nice thin layer of frosting. I like it like that, as I want more of the cake/crisp flavor in each bite. But my wife is suggesting next time I double the frosting recipe for a thicker layer. Also, please be mindful of the step that says “Sprinkle and PAT nuts into mixture.” If you do not (like me, reference pic below), when you go to frost it, you will get a handful of loose nuts on top that will mix into the frosting. Of course this does nothing to alter the taste, but aesthetically it is not as pleasing.

Enjoy!

This is the first 5 ingredients mixed and added to the bowl.

IMG_1646

With the cake mix and nuts added.

IMG_1648

The cooled butter spooned over the top.

IMG_1649

Out of the oven, going to cool before being frosted.

IMG_1650

Finished product. Notice the nuts mixed into the frosting? And by the way, I also forgot to get a shot of a slices served on a plate. Next time!

IMG_1651

Pumpkin Crisp with a Cream Cheese Frosting

Ingredients

1 can pure pumpkin (15 oz)

1 can evaporated milk (12 oz)

1 cup sugar

½ teaspoon cinnamon

3 eggs

1 box yellow cake mix

1 cup chopped pecans or walnuts

2 sticks butter, melted and cooled

Frosting

8 oz package cream cheese

¾ cup frozen whipped topping, thawed

1 ½ cups powdered sugar

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Coat a 13×9 pan with non-stick cooking spray. Mix the first 5 ingredients together, pour into pan. Sprinkle dry cake mix over mixture. Sprinkle and pat nuts into mixture. Spoon cooled butter over nuts. Bake for 50-55 minutes. Cool thoroughly. Frost when cooled.

Frosting

Combine three ingredients thoroughly with a whisk or hand mixer. Frost and refrigerate until served.

Come find me on Facebook here.

One thought on “Pumpkin Crisp with Cream Cheese Frosting

Leave a Reply

