Chicken Quesadillas

Chicken quesadillas are such as simple, delicious, yet under appreciated dinner. They are absolutely easy to make at home, but most times lacking that special something.

For the longest time, I couldn’t quite grasp how my quesadillas weren’t near as good as ones I order from my favorite Tex-Mex restaurant. But finally I realized, they slather them in butter, generating quite a bit of flavor. I personally can’t bring myself to use as much butter as they do, which is basically sautéing the quesadillas in it. So, after many attempts with different fillings to make up for it, I have finally found the answer, and a quite simple one at that. Diced green chilies. With chilies added along with the cheese and chicken, it gave the quesadillas a special pop, adding tremendous flavor, creating in my mind the most delicious quesadillas I have ever eaten. And to boot, I take the easy way out and buy a small can of green chilies instead of buying hole and doing the dicing, saving some time. And an added benefit to the cans is, you can go mild or hot, depending on your tastes.

The marinade I use on these is simple as well and utterly amazing. It is the same I use on these marinated grilled chicken breasts. The chicken can be grilled (or cooked on the stove) ahead of time, as it will reheat once you are cooking the quesadilla. You can also substitute the chicken for beef. I would recommend flank or skirt steak, with a simple salt and pepper rub verse any additional marinade. I typically serve these with salsa and chips and queso.

IMG_1679

IMG_1678

Enjoy!

Ingredients:

Flour tortillas

2 chicken breasts, marinated (marinade recipe below), cooked, and chopped or shredded

2 cups of shredded cheese (I use 50/50 cheddar and Monterey Jack)

1 small can of diced green chilies

Butter

Directions:

Spread a very fine layer of butter on one side of two tortillas. Lay one on a hot skillet, then top with 1/4 cup of cheese, 1/4 cup of chicken, and 1 tablespoon (or more to taste) of chilies. Sprinkle a few more pieces of cheese on top. Place the second tortilla butter side up. Once cheese has started to melt and the bottom tortilla is slightly browned, flip and continue to cook until the second tortilla is browned and the cheese is completely melted. Remove from pan and cut into fourths.

Repeat the above process until you reach the desired amount of quesadillas. Many people choose to do the half-moon method, of adding ingredients to one side of the tortilla and then folding over. This is fine, just adjust the amount of filling accordingly in half for each.

Ingredients for marinade:

¾ cup Mexican beer, such as Dos Equis

1 tablespoon soy sauce

1 tablespoon lime juice

½ tablespoon canola oil

½ tablespoon Worcestershire sauce

1-2 garlic gloves, minced

Please come find me on Facebook here.

3 thoughts on “Chicken Quesadillas

  1. I like the green chile idea! My secret trick for these is to put down a layer of refried beans on the tortilla before the cheese. It adds some depth and flavor and blends into the other ingredients really nicely!

    Like

    • Definitely try the green chili’s the next time you make them! And I plan on the adding the refried beans. Can’t honestly believe I hadn’t thought of that before. Makes perfect sense, I can see how it would blend everything together perfectly.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

