Best Drop Biscuits

First I want to say, please pardon my absence over the last couple of months in the blogging world. It was a rough holiday season in many ways, but also a kind one in other ways. I do not plan on drowning you with the details, but wanted to say I am back and will be adding new recipes starting with these awesome Best Drop Biscuits.

In early December, I had to make an unexpected trip to New England and was staying with one of my sisters for a few days. Her and I always discuss food, as I am usually trying to pry her and her husbands great recipes out of them. But one night I was sitting in her living room flipping through her new cookbook, “The Complete Cook’s Country TV Show Cookbook). As it looks more like an encyclopedia than a cookbook, I was using her book marked pages to see which recipes caught her eye, as I would have needed a week to go page by page. I came across Best Drop Biscuits, and I am telling you since, I could not be much happier! I have tried in the past different biscuit recipes and either I fail, or they are too cumbersome to make. These on the other hand, are the most delicious ones I have had, and are tremendously easy to make. I typically have all the ingredients on hand anyways, so I can make them on a whim at almost anytime, which I have quite a few times now.

Enjoy!

IMG_1784

Out, cooled off for a couple of minutes.

Best Drop Biscuits

Ingredients

2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon sugar

¾ teaspoon table salt

½ teaspoon baking soda

1 cup buttermilk, chilled

8 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled slightly, plus 2 tablespoons melted butter for brushing the biscuits

Directions

Adjust an oven rack to the middle position and heat the oven to 475 degrees. Line a large rimmed baking sheet with parchment paper. Whisk the flour, baking powder, sugar, salt, and baking soda together in a large bowl. Combine the buttermilk and 8 tablespoons of the melted butter in a medium bowl, stirring until the butter forms small clumps.

Add the buttermilk mixture to the dry ingredients and stir with a rubber spatula until just incorporated and the batter pulls away from the sides of the bowl. Using a greased 1/4‑cup measuring cup, scoop a level amount of batter and drop onto the prepared baking sheet. Repeat with the remaining batter, spacing the biscuits about 1 1/2 inches apart. Bake until the tops are golden brown and crisp, 12 to 14 minutes.

Come find me on Facebook at Antics in Cooking.

5 thoughts on “Best Drop Biscuits

  1. Pingback: Best Drop Biscuits | homethoughtsfromabroad626

Leave a Reply

