Gluten Free Apple Cinnamon Muffins

About three months ago, a Trader Joe’s opened up in our town, which was also the first TJ’s I had ever stepped foot in. What an awesome store!! If you have never been to one, I am sorry. If you have, you know what I mean. We could never do all our grocery shopping there due to the limited selection, but I can always find those specialty items there that I can’t find anywhere else. Plus, they actually make my five year old WANT to go to the store, as he likes to play detective and they (at least ours does) always hide two stuffed goats in the store for the kiddos to find for a lollipop.

IMG_1894

If you have a TJ’s in a 50 mile radius of you and you have never been, go check it out. Make sure to bring a cold bag with you as I trust you will not leave empty handed!

Lately I have been making more gluten free recipes (long story, don’t ask) and some are great, and some not so great. The not so great ones are generally any that involve bread or baking. I had tried no less than 10 gluten free muffin recipes (which all were horrible) until I found this one. And go figure, it is on the back of the Trader Joe Gluten Free Flour bag. I will not lie and say these are better than a gluten rich muffin (still my favorite), but if you have to eat gluten free, these are a dang good second best. On the milk or dairy alternative, I use milk. Enjoy!

IMG_1898

Ingredients:
2 cups gluten free flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 large eggs
1/2 cup agave sweetener
1/2 cup sunflower oil
1/2 cup milk or dairy alternative
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup applesauce

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease or line muffin pan. In a medium bowl, combine flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. In a separate bowl, whisk eggs, agave, oil, milk and vanilla and stir into flour mixture to combine. Stir in Applesauce. Scoop batter into muffin pan. Bake for 18-20 minutes.

Yields 18 muffins.

Come find me on Facebook here.

2 thoughts on “Gluten Free Apple Cinnamon Muffins

Leave a Reply

