Egg muffin (aka, a frittata)

Light, fluffy eggs that you can fill with just about anything you want. This is a good way to clean out some of that little bit of cheese, meat, or vegetables you have before you need to toss them. I used some deli sliced ham and freshly grated sharp cheddar cheese. I know when I make these for my wife, she will opt for some vegetables in hers. This makes this style wonderful, as you make many different flavor combinations in the same muffin tray.

I rarely have the chance to actually “cook” breakfast, typically settling for cereal, or a warmed up muffin. This morning was different, and I had some time to spare. I thought I would try to bake my eggs in a frittata type style, but only for a single serving, which for me is two eggs. It worked out perfectly, as the egg mixture split evenly between two muffin cups. So the portions below will make you two muffin size frittatas, and can easily be scaled up for more people. Served simply with toast, that was a very fulfilling breakfast.

Simple ingredients

Simple ingredients

Everything combined

Everything combined

Ready to go in the oven

Ready to go in the oven

Wonderful, fluffy result!

Wonderful, fluffy result!

Ingredients:

2 Eggs

1 tablespoon milk

Salt and Pepper

1/4 cup ham, cut into small pieces (or any meat and or vegetables you want)

1/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Crack two eggs into a small bowl. Add milk, salt, and pepper. Whisk until the eggs are well beaten and everything is incorporated. Add ham and cheese, stir to combine.

Spray two of the muffin cups inside of your muffin tray with cooking spray. Evenly pour egg mixture into two cups. Place in oven and bake for 15-20 minutes, or until eggs are set and browning lightly on top.

Note: I let them sit in the tray for a couple of minutes once I removed from the oven. They popped right out when I flipped the tray oven onto a plate, and they were sturdy enough not to fall apart.

Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Egg muffin (aka, a frittata)

Leave a Reply

